barnhaser.blogg.se

Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed
Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed













dell perc h200 vs h700 speed
  1. #Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed drivers
  2. #Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed full
  3. #Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed Offline

I currently use an old hp computer to host my nas/media server and it time for more power!!! The T710 comes that I have is currently configured with 8 x 73 GB 2.5" HDD running at 7.5k rpms, dual 6c/12t processors, 48 gb of ram. I plan to use this server as media server and a nas that will be lightly used. And I was doing some testing with and and was wondering what other peoples thoughts were on the subject, since I haven't really seen anyone else post something like this, I'd figure I would. Gots to get going here - when have time see if can locate a right angle cable.So my friend sold me Dell Power Edge T710 server yesterday for a hell of a price. I did some testing on H700 while back and enabling controller cache did indeed slow down some SATA SSD RAID1s. In which you might be able to save a bit by not going for a P model. They may say to go write through and not even use controllers cache. If your going all SSD - I'd look at what Dell says about pure SSD arrays on the 740p.

dell perc h200 vs h700 speed

If your using spinning disks the controller's cache will be used in right back mode for sure. (VSAN doesn't even use controller cache as all disks in passthrough mode.) And at time didn't see huge price difference between P and non P model. Reason I went for 730p in 11gen poweredge was for vmware VSAN support - controller has need queue depths and ongoing firmware/driver development. So generally speaking the 730p/740p card is overkill for small disk array use.

#Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed full

Then even if 8 disks could - would they all be using full bandwidth at same time. I'd have to do some math if the native 8 connections with ssds can even go beyond PCIE2. Both 740p & 730p are designed for Poweredges with 16x or 24x backplanes/Sas expanders.

#Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed Offline

If not - then you'd be look at needing to do offline RAID/disk management in cards BIOS.Īs far as performance hit with new PERCS in older systems - it's just the potential bottleneck of the PCIE 2.0 on mobo as the cards are PCIE 3.0 However this really only an issue if you had lots of 12Gbps SSDs. Not sure if the R5500 even allowed for online RAID management with the supported PERC6.

#Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed drivers

Not sure what OS your aiming for but did lookup its system management drivers and did not see any Openmanage available for win10/7. I mounted the SSD on a plate that sits in between the top of the backplane drive cage and the bottom of the lower 5 1/4" drive bay, there is about a 1 1/2" space available there.ĭell Precision R5500 as not had too much experience with Precision. I know putting the hypervisor on an SSD is a waste, but at $39.99 it was a more cost effective, and easier, setup than going with a USB flash drive that is on Microsoft's hardware compatibility list. In this setup I'm running Hyper-V Server 2012 R2 on a 64GB Transcend SSD370, connected to the SATA_B port on the MoBo, and two Server 2012 R2 VM's on the OBR10 mentioned in my above post. Over the last 20 years I have never had one fail prematurely on me, but their reputation after the 2011 floods has made me leery of the large capacity 3.5FF Seagate's, and I have tended to use WD or HGST/Hitachi drives for the last 5 years. To be honest, I have had great luck with Seagate drives. They were indeed brand new, had a DOM of Sept2016, and were mounted in real Dell trays, so I did not complain. I ordered a Dell part number that should have been WD4001FYYG's but they sent me Seagate ST4000NM0025's. I originally was looking at going with HGST Ultrastar 7K4000's, but I found brand new Dell branded drives, with tray, for about the same cost as going the HGST route when you consider that I would have needed to buy 4 additional trays. I do not know if this a factor for you or not, but is another thing to consider. After thinking about it, after posting last night, another advantage of the H730 is that it supports 4Kn drives.















Dell perc h200 vs h700 speed